• 0711036000
  • Mon - Thur 07:45 - 17:00 (Fri 07:45 - 16:30)
  • KenGen Pension Plaza II

About Us

Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC (KenGen) is the leading electric power generating company in East Africa. KenGen was incorporated in 1954 under the Kenyan Companies Act as Kenya Power Company (KPC) with the mandate to generate electricity through the development, management and operation of power plants. The shareholders of the Company later contracted East Africa Power & Lighting Company (EAP&L) to manage KPC. In 1983, EAP&L changed to Kenya Power & Lighting Company.

In 1996 Government of Kenya started restructuring the energy sector with the goal of achieving efficient usage of resources earmarked for generation, transmission and distribution of electricity. Two years later, in January 1998, the management of KPC was separated from KPLC and renamed KenGen.

In 2006 the Government sold 30% of its stake in the company following a successful Initial Public Offer. Subsequently, KenGen was listed on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE). Over the years, the company has continued to increase shareholder value through profitability and maintaining a sustainable growth path. In line with the organization’s strategic objectives, shareholders were given opportunity to exercise their rights in a successful rights issue in 2016.

Since inception in 1954, the company has made considerable inroads in Kenya’s energy sector. With a market share of about 75% of the electricity consumed by kenyans, KenGen is today the largest energy producer in East Africa.

The company’s strategy is to deliver affordable clean energy by creating value for shareholders and while expanding energy sources and revenue streams. The company’s generation capacity mix includes Hydro (818MW), Geothermal (534 MW), Thermal (254MW), Wind (26MW).

KenGen has its tentacles spread across six operation areas - Olkaria & Eburru, Western Region, Kipevu, Seven Forks (Eastern Region), Upper Tana and Ngong. At the Geothermal area along the Rift Valley, the company has power plants and Wellheads running as baseload energy sources in Olkaria and Eburru. The area has installed capacity of 534MW.

The Western region which has installed capacity of 249MW encompasses four hydro stations and a thermal power plant as follows; Turkwel, Sondu Miriu, Sangoro, Gogo and Muhoroni. In Mombasa County kenGen’s Kipevu thermal plant has an installed capacity of about 194MW.

The Eastern Region popularly known as the Seven Forks consists of five power plants situated along the Tana River. The plants include Masinga, Gitaru, Kindaruma, Kiambere and Kamburu power stations. The upper Tana comprises four power plants namely Tana, Wanji, Sagana and Mesco. Hydro, which is KenGen’s leading source of energy has installed capacity of 818MW.

Geothermal comes second with 534MW of which about 84MW is drawn from the innovative Wellheads Technology.

KenGen also runs several wind turbines inNgong hills with an installed capacity of about 26MW.


KenGen PLC was the first Kenyan Company to earn Carbon Asset funds under the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM).

  1.  Commissioned the first and biggest Geothermal Spa in Africa.
  2.  Institutionalized innovation through the Company’s Annual G2G Innovation Seminar.
  3. Implemented a remarkable Community Resettlement Action Plan (RAP) for 1,181 project affected persons in Olkaria Geothermal Consultancy works and commercial geothermal drilling contracts.
  4. ISO QMS 9001:2015 and EMS.

ftNews Highlights


Group 585 Group 586
Group 587 Group 581
  More Awards

ftOur Contacts

Head Office

  • KenGen Pension Plaza II
    Kolobot Road, Parklands
  • P. O. BOX 47936, 00100, Nairobi
  • TEL:
  • +254 711 036-000
  • +254 732 116-000
  • +254 020 366-6000
  • Email: pr@kengen.co.ke

© 2020 KenGen